Fare and Samuel Eto’o to receive European tolerance award06 March 2015


The Medal is will be presented on Monday (9th March) in London by the European Council on Tolerance and Reconciliation’s (ECTR), a NGO established in 2008 by former Polish President Aleksander Kwasniewski and European Jewish Congress President Moshe Kantor to monitor tolerance in Europe.

Samuel Eto’o, who played for clubs including FC Barcelona, Inter Milan. Anzi and Chelsea FC, will be in attendance together with members of the Fare Board to receive the award.

The ECTR is comprised of former European leaders, Nobel Prize laureates and other public figures. It is an opinion-making and advisory body on international tolerance promotion, reconciliation, legislation and education.

“As racism, anti-Semitism and hatred are once again rearing their ugly heads on the terraces, on the field and in the boardrooms of sporting clubs and institutions, Samuel Eto’o and the FARE Network are being recognized for their strong stance and action against growing racism, anti-Semitism and intolerance in sports in general and football in particular” the ECTR said.

The first recipient of the European Medal of Tolerance was King Juan Carlos I of Spain. Joint recipients of the second Medal were the President of Croatia Ivo Josipovic and the former President of Serbia Boris Tadic.